Solid Waste Management District

The Clark County Solid Waste Management District oversees the county recycling programs, and may have answers to some of your special problem waste and disposal questions. 

Clark County Ordinance #1993-OR-34 established the mandatory recycling program in January, 1998. It is a law that all residents of Clark County (Sellersburg, Jeffersonville, and Clarksville) must pay the curb-side recycling fee if the resident participates or does not participate in the program. Each household in the curbside area incurs a yearly fee of $34.00, which is now included on the property tax statement.

For additional information please click here to visit the Solid Waste Management District website. 

Contact Solid Waste Management District

Clark Co. Solid Waste Management District
112 Industrial Way 
Charlestown IN 47111

P 812.256.7942
F 812.256.4079 

Office Email -
Office Website -

Hours:  Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM
Hours:  Wednesday 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Sorry, this website uses features that your browser doesn’t support. Upgrade to a newer version of Firefox, Chrome, Safari, or Edge and you’ll be all set.